…Writing??

So Camp Nanowrimo has started this April.  Its already day 7 and I’m sure you can already guess that I haven’t been very productive towards writing my Nano Novel.   Despite signing up for the camp, I’ve decided to withdraw from the competition/challenge.    I decided I would rather write at my own pace and not stress myself by trying to force myself to write each day and then meet a daily word count, especially since its Spring Break.  I’d rather not try to strain myself on doing something like Nanowrimo, when this week is all about doing things at my leisure and working my personal creative pursuits such as writing, journaling, sewing, sketching, or actually getting to read a book. 

I can’t tell you how long its been since I’ve been able to read because I wanted to.  The book I read for my creative writing course this past month, Curse and Smoke by Vicky Shecter, was the first book I was able to read since rereading the Diary of Anne Frank over Winter Break.  It was so refreshing and a great read if you like historical fiction or just a good story with lovely details and worldbuilding.  But besides that I haven’t been able to get much reading in.  I so plan to at least read some this week and throughout the rest of the month, even if its only a few minutes at lunch or while riding in the car etc.  Just a few minutes to do the thing that use to make my heart feel at home would be lovely.

So since I have withdrawn from Nano, I will make it a point to write for at least 25-30 minutes a day.  I use an app called Writometer.  It works similarly to the Nanowrimo setup.  You have a daily writing log where you put in how many words you wrote that day, the amount of time you spent writing and your writing goal for the day.  I like the app and there’s less pressure than Nanowrimo.

Along with my daily 30 minute writing I am taking part in the WordPress Blogging U writing challenge.  They basically send you prompts each day and you try to write for that prompt.  Its nice because I would like to post to this blog much more often than I do at the moment and I thought the daily prompt work or at least blogging about my writing endeavors in general.

Let’s see how this goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

